Search Now to Find Amazing Website on I Dmoz ORG
idmoz Society Government Parliaments and Legislatures

Parliaments and Legislatures Websites

- Category ID : 438205
1 -

France - National Assembly

Consists of 577 deputies, each of whom is elected in a constituency either with an absolute majority of votes (more than half the votes) at the first ballot or a relative majority (the largest number of votes) at the second ballot.
2 -

European Union - European Parliament

Single-chamber body elected by several overlapping systems. Site has content in all EU languages.
3 -

Armenia - National Assembly of the Republic of Armenia

Site lists the members of various committees, with more information in Armenian.
4 -

Bulgaria - National Assembly of the Republic of Bulgaria

Elected for a four-year term and consisting of 240 members.
5 -

Iceland - Alþingi

The Icelandic parliament dates back to 930AD, now having 63 members from eight constituencies.
6 -

Albanian Parliament

Single-chamber parliament elected for four years under additional-member system.
7 -

Finland - Suomen Eduskunta

The Parliament of Finland, a unicameral body of 200 members elected on a proportional basis.
8 -

Austrian Parliament

Österreichisches Parlament, consisting of the Nationalrat (National Council) and the Bundesrat (Federal Council).
9 -

Germany - Bundestag

The Federal Diet, composed of at least 598 Members, of whom 299 are elected in the constituencies and a further 299 via a list-based additional member system with a 5% cutoff.
10 -

Czech Republic - Chamber of Deputies

Site has lists of committees, commissions and delegations, and more in Czech.
11 -

Czech Republic - Senate

Eighty-one member elected body.
12 -

Estonia - Riigikogu

The Parliament of the Republic of Estonia, elected by proportional representation with a 5% cutoff.
13 -

Japan - House of Councillors

The Sangiin, the upper house of the National Diet.
14 -

Japan - House of Representatives

The Shugiin, the Lower house of the National Diet.
15 -

Sweden - Riksdag

Unicameral body containing 349 members from 29 different constituencies.
16 -

Romania - Chamber of Deputies

Containing 341 members elected using a proportional list system.
17 -

Romania - Senate

One hundred and forty-three member body elected using a proportional list system. With more content in Romanian.
18 -

Lithuania - Seimas

Composed of 141 members elected for a four-year term.
19 -

Hungary - Parliament of the Republic of Hungary

Also known as the National Assembly (Az ország háza).
20 -

Hong Kong Legislative Council

Consisting of 60 Members, with 24 Members elected from geographical constituencies, 30 Members by functional constituencies, and 6 Members by an Election Committee comprising 800 elected representatives of the community.
21 -

Poland - Senate

Chamber of the parliament.
22 -

Poland - Sejm

Main chamber of the parliament.
23 -

Cyprus - House of Representatives

Composed of 80 members, 56 elected by the Greek community and 24 by the Turkish community.
24 -

Canada - Parliament of Canada

Composed of the Queen, represented by the Governor General, the appointed Senate, and the elected House of Commons.
25 -

Latvia - Saeima

Unicameral parliament of 100 members elected by proportional representation.
26 -

Norwegian Parliament

The Stortinget of 165 members, of which 157 are from constituencies and 8 are additional members.
27 -


Assembly of the Republic (Assembleia da República).
28 -


29 -

United Kingdom Parliament

Composed of the House of Commons, elected by single-member plurality for a period of not more than five years, and the appointed (and for a few members inherited) House of Lords.
30 -

Singapore - Parliament of the Republic of Singapore

Elected from multi-member constituencies, with some additional members. Pending bills, publications, member directory, and educational resources available.
31 -

India - Parliament of India

Composed of the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (House of the People).
32 -

Isle of Man - Manx Parliament

The Tynwald, dating back to the eighth century, and composed of the House of Keys and the Legislative Council.
33 -

Irish Parliament

Also known as the Houses of the Oireachtas; composed of Dáil Éireann (House of Deputies) and Seanad Éireann (Senate).
34 -

South Africa - Parliament of South Africa

Composed of the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces.
35 -

Micronesia - Congress of the Federated States of Micronesia

Unicameral national legislature consisting of 14 Senators, one from each of the States of Kosrae, Pohnpei, Chuuk, and Yap for a four-year term, and ten Members for two years.
36 -

New Zealand - House of Representatives

Elected from 62 General and 7 Maori constituencies, with additional members for proportionality.
37 -

Australia - Parliament of Australia

Consisting of the House of Representatives and the Senate.
38 -

Jersey - The States of Jersey

Originally composed of the three estates, the Jurats (justices), the Connétables (the heads of the parishes) and the Rectors (from the churches).
39 -

Slovenia - Drzavni zbor

The National Assembly, with more detail in Slovenian.
40 -

Switzerland - Parliament

Bicameral system consisting of 200-member National Council and 46-member Council of States.
41 -

Thailand - House of Representatives

Composed of 500 members, 400 elected from constituencies and 100 from party lists.
43 -

Denmark - Folketinget

Danish parliament of 179 members elected by a variant of an additional member system.

Subcategories under Parliaments and Legislatures 3

All Languages